

E-Learning and Digital Education Council Bylaws

Mission and Charge

As digital education is integral to the classroom, e-learning, and co-curricular education at BMCC, the E-Learning and Digital Education Council's (the Council) mission is to develop and define the college's digital education strategy. The Council will consider issues across educational technology, hardware and software, multimedia (tools and services), learning management systems and platforms, open education tools like the CUNY Academic Commons and the OpenLab, cloud-based learning, digital literacy and citizenship, 21st-century technology skills, and other matters pertaining to technology and education.

The Council will advise, consult, and collaborate with the Academic Senate Instruction Committee and administrative departments at the college on strategic and operational decisions in furtherance of its mission.

Membership:

- Council membership will be composed of twenty-five members:
 - One representative from each of the 18 academic departments at the college. Each department will determine the process by which they either elect, appoint, or seek volunteers to serve on the Council. Faculty members should have an interest in or experience with educational technology across in-person classrooms as well as e-learning (fully online, online, hybrid, web-enhanced). Faculty members will serve for three years with one-third of the members' terms expiring each year. Members may serve consecutive terms, as determined by their department.
 - Three ex officio members: the Associate Dean of Faculty, the Director of E-Learning and the CETLS director, who will serve as long as they are in those positions.
 - Four members: one each from the staffs of IT, Student Services, Media Center and the Learning Resource Center.

- The Council will meet four times a year--twice during the fall semester and twice during the spring semester.
- The chair of the Council will be the Director of E-Learning.
- The Council will be co-chaired by a faculty member elected by the Council each spring for the following 2-year renewable term. Nominations will be taken from the floor during the first meeting of the spring term and elections will be held in the second meeting of the spring term. Members may self- nominate.
- The faculty co-chair of the Council will serve as liaison to the Academic Senate Instruction Committee.
 - 1. One faculty member from Academic Literacy and Linguistics
 - 2. One faculty member from Accounting
 - 3. One faculty member from Allied Health Sciences
 - 4. One faculty member from Business Management
 - 5. One faculty member from Center for Ethnic Studies
 - 6. One faculty member from Computer Information Systems
 - 7. One faculty member from English
 - 8. One faculty member from Health Education
 - 9. One faculty member from Mathematics
 - 10. One faculty member from Media Arts and Technology
 - 11. One faculty member from Modern Languages
 - 12. One faculty member from Music and Art
 - 13. One faculty member from Nursing
 - 14. One faculty member from Science
 - 15. One faculty member from Social Sciences, Human Services and Criminal Justice
 - 16. One faculty member from Speech, Communications, and Theatre Arts
 - 17. One faculty member from Teacher Education
 - 18. One staff member from IT/Technology Department (appointed by CIO)
 - 19. CETLS Director
 - 20. One faculty/staff member from the Library
 - 21. One staff member from Media Center (appointed by CIO)
 - 22. One staff member from Student Services
 - 23. One staff member from the Learning Resource Center
 - 24. Director of E-Learning
 - 25. Associate Dean of Faculty