## BOROUGH OF MANHATTAN COMMUNITY COLLEGE The City University of New York

## **COLLEGE COUNCIL**

## Minutes for the Organizational Meeting of the 2017-2018 College Council

May 24, 2017

## Everyone attended except:

Sheldon Applewhite Peter Bratsis

Horace Brockington Robin Brown Judy Eng Erik Freas

Nickla Galloway-Brown

Joyce Harte
Joel Hernandez
Orlando Justo
Caterina Mata
Desmond McKerna
Abel Navarro

Colin Persaud Christine Priano Silvia Roig Brett Simms N. Smith

**George Stevenson** 

Hao Tang

Kiberwossen Tesfagiorgis

Anna Vidiaev Brianne Waychoff Ching-Song Don Wei

- I. President Pérez called the meeting to order at 2:15 pm
- II. ATTENDANCE
- III. ANNOUNCEMENT Vice President Robert Diaz spoke regarding service on College Council and Academic Senate committees. Members are expected to serve on one committee only, whether of the College Council or of the Academic Senate.
- IV. ELECTIONS: Names marked with an asterisk (\*) were not elected.
  - A. Secretary Suzanne C. Schick. Elected by acclamation.
  - B. Parliamentarian Glenn Miller Elected by acclamation.
  - C. Budget Committee One-year term. The following slate was approved:

- 1. Kay Conway
- 2. Anna Vidiaev
- 3. Jim Berg
- 4. Joel Barker
- D. Campus Facilities and Security Committee One-year term. The following slate was approved:
  - 1. Kathleen Dreyer
  - 2. Jun Laing
  - 3. Adolfina Koroch
  - 4. Lewis Chan
- E. Campus Life and Student Issues Committee One-year term. The following slate was approved. A fourth member will be chosen by the chair:
  - 1. Sunil Gupta
  - 2. Ali Syed
  - 3. Diane Walleser
- F. Technology Committee- One-year term. Four Faculty/Staff
  - 1. Manny Romero
  - 2. John Gallagher
  - 3. Liany Marcial
  - 4. Christopher Shults\*
- V. President Pérez adjourned the meeting at 2:30 pm.